





Plenary meeting of the LXVII COSAC

3-5 March 2022, National Assembly, Palais Bourbon, Paris

Programme

(version of 8 February 2022)

Meeting time zone: CET

The expectation is that participants in the Plenary meeting of COSAC will attend in person, with no provision made for the possibility of remote attendance. There are no plans to shift to an exclusively virtual format unless required due to a change in the pandemic situation.

THURSDAY 3 MARCH 2022

2pm – 7pm Arrival of delegations and hotel check-in

	Meeting of the Presidential Troika
5:30pm	Departure of Troika members from their hotels
6pm	Meeting of the Presidential Troika (European Affairs Committee conference room 33, rue Saint-Dominique, 3 rd floor)
7pm	Departure of Troika members for dinner

7pm Departure of other participants for dinner

7:30pm Dinner at the Senate, Palais du Luxembourg, in the

presence of Mr. Richard FERRAND, President of the National Assembly, and Mr. Gérard LARCHER,

President of the Senate.

(address: 15 ter rue de Vaugirard, 75006 Paris)

10pm Return to hotels

FRIDAY 4 MARCH 2022

(address: National Assembly, Palais Bourbon, 126 rue de l'Université, 75007 Paris)

Meetings of political groups

7:30am Departure from hotels for the Palais Bourbon

8am – 8:40am Meetings of political groups

(1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th offices, 1st floor of the Palais

Bourbon)

8am Departure from hotels for the Palais Bourbon

9am - 9:20am

Opening of the LXVII COSAC

(Venue: hemicycle)

Welcome address by Mr. Richard FERRAND, President of the French National Assembly

Introductions:

- Ms. Sabine THILLAYE, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National Assembly
- Mr. Jean-François RAPIN, Chair of the Senate Committee for European Affairs

9:20am - 9:45am

Adoption of the agenda

Procedural issues and any other business

(chaired by Ms. Sabine Thillaye,

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National Assembly)

- Presentation of the results of the meeting of the Presidential Troika of COSAC
- Presentation of the 37th Bi-Annual Report of COSAC
- Letters received by the Presidency
- Any other business

9:45am - 11am

Session I - First assessment of France's Presidency of the Council of the European Union (chaired by Ms. Sabine Thillaye, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National Assembly)

- Speaker: Mr. Jean CASTEX, Prime Minister of France
- Debate

11am - 11:30am

Coffee break (Salle des fêtes) Group photo (Court of honour, Bronze door)

3

11:30am – 1pm Session II – European recovery and resilience

plan (chaired by Ms. Sabine Thillaye, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National

Assembly)

 Introduction by Mr. Jean-François RAPIN, Chair of the Senate Committee for European Affairs

 Speakers: Mr. Valdis DOMBROVSKIS, Executive Vice-President of the European Commission (to be confirmed), Mr Othman KARAS, First Vice-President of the European Parliament, and Mr. Ivan STEFANEC, President of SME Europe (Small and medium sized enterprises Europe)

Debate

1:30pm – 3pm Lunch at the Hôtel de Poulpry, Maison des Polytechniciens,

(address: 12 rue de Poitiers)

3:30pm – 5pm Session III – Climate change and energy transition

(chaired by Mr. Jean-François Rapin, Chair of the Senate

Committee for European Affairs)

 Introduction by Ms. Sabine THILLAYE, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National Assembly

 Speakers: Ms. Kadri SIMSON, European Commissioner for Energy (to be confirmed), and Mr. Pierre GATTAZ, President of BusinessEurope

Debate

5pm Tour of the Palais Bourbon *(optional)*

From 5pm Return to hotels

7pm Departure from hotels to dinner

7:30pm Dinner at the Quai d'Orsay, Ministry for Europe and Foreign

Affairs (address: 37, quai d'Orsay, 75007 Paris)

10pm Return to hotels

SATURDAY 5 MARCH 2022

8am Departure from hotels to the Palais Bourbon

9am – 10:30am Session IV – Conference on the Future of Europe

(chaired by Ms. Sabine Thillaye, Chair of the European

Affairs Committee of the National Assembly)

- Introduction by Mr. Jean-François RAPIN, Chair of the Senate Committee for European Affairs
- Video message from Ms. Ursula VON DER LEYEN, President of the European Commission
- Speakers: Mr. Guy VERHOFSTADT, Member of the European Parliament (to be confirmed), and Ms. Dubravka ŠUICA, Vice-President of the European Commission for Democracy and Demography (to be confirmed)
- Debate

10:30am – 11am Coffee break

11am – 12:15pm Session V – Progress reports from the working groups

(chaired by Mr. Jean-François Rapin, Chair of the Senate

Committee for European Affairs)

- Speakers: Ms. Sabine THILLAYE, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National Assembly, and Mr. Jean-François RAPIN, Chair of the Senate Committee for European Affairs
- Debate

12:15pm Closing session

12:45pm Lunch at the parliamentary restaurant of the National

Assembly (address: 101 rue de l'Université, 75007

Paris – 7th and 8th floor)

From 2pm Return to hotels