

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

Brussels, 23.2.2018 C(2018) 958 final

Dear Presidents, dear Chairs,

The Commission would like to thank the 26 Chambers that are signatories for their letter of 19 December 2017 concerning the transparency of the legislative process in the European Union. The Commission welcomes the initiative and has taken good note of the proposals contained therein.

Enhancing transparency is one of the top priorities of this Commission, as reflected in its Political Guidelines and put into practice through several initiatives.

This Commission has taken unprecedented steps to open up the preparatory legislative process and to make it more transparent. Our aim is not to impose policies but to prepare them inclusively, based on full transparency and engagement, listening to the views of those affected by legislation. Via the 'Contribute to Law-Making' web portal, citizens and interested actors can follow a legislative initiative from the first ideas, presented in a roadmap, to the final proposal adopted by the Commission and provide comments or contributions throughout the policy making process. This openness to external feedback and external scrutiny is a guarantee to ensure we get it right.

The Interinstitutional Agreement on Better Law-Making of 13 April 2016 extends our strive to enhance transparency in the legislative process to the interinstitutional phase. Notably, the Commission is developing, together with the European Parliament and the Council, a dedicated joint database on the state of play of legislative files, so as to facilitate traceability of the various steps in the legislative process. In September 2016, the Commission adopted a proposal for a revised interinstitutional agreement on a mandatory Transparency Register covering for the first time, besides the European Parliament and the Commission, the Council. Furthermore, as President Juncker undertook in his State of the Union speech of 13 September 2017, from now on, the Commission will publish in full all draft negotiating mandates it proposes to Council concerning the negotiation of international agreements.

These are only a few examples of the most important initiatives aiming at bolstering transparency and openness of the European Union's decision-making process.

As indicated in your letter, the actions proposed are first and foremost addressed to the Council of the European Union. The Commission encourages any efforts leading to greater transparency and will give its support to any measures which might be decided by the co-legislators in this respect.

As regards the proposals for recasting and 'Lisbonising' Regulation 1049/2001, which have been pending with the Council since 2012, the Commission has consistently demonstrated openness to a genuine discussion with both branches of the European Union legislature and will continue to do so.

The Commission looks forward to continuing the political dialogue with national Parliaments to advance further our common aim of bringing the European Union closer to its citizens.

Yours faithfully,

ans Timmermans

Frans Timmermans First Vice-President

Mr Malik AZMANI Chairman of the Standing Committee on European Affairs

Mr Bastiaan VAN APELDOORN Chairman of the Standing Committee on European Affairs

Mr Gediminas KIRKILAS Chairman of the European Affairs Committee

Mr Peter LUYKX Member of the European Affairs Committee

Ms Izabela KLOC Chairwoman of the European Union Affairs Committee

Mr Jaroslaw OBREMSKI Deputy-Chair of the Foreign and European Union Affairs Committee

Mr Paolo TANCREDI Vice-Chairman of the EU Policy Committee cc. Ms Khadija ARIB President of the Tweede Kamer

> Ms Ankie BROEKERS-KNOL President of the Eerste Kamer

Mr Viktoras PRANCKIETIS President of the Seimas

Mr Siegfried BRACKE President of the Chambre des représentants

Ms Christine DEFRAIGNE President of the Sénat

Mr Marek KUCHCIŃSKI Marshal of the Sejm

Mr Stanisław KARCZEWSKI Marshal of the Senat

Ms Laura BOLDRINI President of the Camera dei Deputati Mr Vannino CHITI Chair of the Standing Committee on EU Policies

Mr Angelos VOTSIS Member of the House Standing Committee of Foreign and European Affairs

Robin, Lord TEVERSON Chairman of the EU Energy and Environment Sub-Committee

Sir William CASH Chairman of the European Scrutiny Committee

Mr Martin KLUS Vice-Chairman of the European Affairs Committee

Mr Václav HAMPL Chairman of the Committee on EU Affairs

Mr Ondřej BENEŠIK Chairman of the Committee on European Affairs

Mr Stefan SCHENNACH Deputy Chair of the Committee on European Union Affairs

Mr Marc ANGEL Chairman of the Committee on Foreign and European Affairs Defence, Cooperation and Immigration

Mr Kamal Izidor SHAKER Chair of the Committee on EU Affairs

Ms Ioanneta KAVVADIA Vice-Chair of the Committee for European Affairs

Mr Richárd HÖRCSIK Chairman of the Committee on European Affairs

Mr Kristian VIGENIN Chair of the Committee on European Affairs and Oversight of the European Funds

Mr Erik CHRISTENSEN Chairman of the European Affairs Committee

Mr Edward ZAMMIT LEWIS Chairman of the Foreign and European Affairs Committee

Ms Gabriela CREŢU Chairwoman of the European Affairs Committee

Ms Regina BASTOS Chairwoman of the European Affairs Committee

Mr Jonas ERIKSSON Chair of the Committee on EU Affairs Mr Pietro GRASSO President of the Senato della Repubblica

Mr Demetris SYLLOURIS President of the Vouli ton Antiprosopon

The Lord Boswell of Aynho Chair of the European Union Select Committee House of Lords

The Rt. Hon. John BERCOW, MP Speaker House of Commons

Mr Andrej DANKO President of the Národná Rada

Mr Milan ŠTĚCH President of the Senát

Mr Radek VONDRÁČEK President of the Poslanecká sněmovna

Mr Reinhard TODT President of the Bundesrat

Mr Mars DI BARTOLOMEO President of the Chambre des Députés

Mr Milan BRGLEZ President of the Državni Zbor

Mr Nikos VOUTSIS President of the Vouli ton Ellinon

Mr László KÖVÉR President of the Országgyűlés

Ms Tsetska TSACHEVA President of the Narodno sabranie

Ms Pia KJÆRSGAARD Speaker of the Folketing

Mr Anglu FARRUGIA President of the Kamra tad-Deputati

Mr Călin POPESCU-TĂRICEANU President of the Senat

Mr Eduardo FERRO RODRIGUES President of the Assembleia da República

Mr Urban AHLIN Speaker of the Riksdag