

#### Declaration of the European Ministers responsible for Culture, Audiovisual and Media,

#### meeting in Angers on 7 and 8 March 2022

Recalling the conclusions of the European Council of 24 February 2022, which 'condemns in the strongest possible terms the Russian Federation's unprovoked and unjustified military aggression against Ukraine', 'demands that Russia immediately ceases its military actions' and 'reiterates its unwavering support for the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine within its internationally recognised borders';

Recalling the rules of international law applicable and the principles of the UN Charter in the event of armed conflict, which guarantee the protection of the lives and physical integrity of civilians, including that of journalists;

Stressing that democratic values, including freedom of creation, cultural diversity, freedom of expression, freedom to impart and receive information, media freedom and pluralism, the movement of artists and cultural professionals as well as the protection of cultural heritage, are universal values;

Recalling the Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the event of Armed Conflict which was adopted in 1954 under the auspices of UNESCO;

Expressing their attachment to the rich cultural heritage of Ukraine and underlining, as done by the United Nations Security Council did in its Resolution 2347(2017), 'that unlawful destruction of cultural heritage, and the looting and smuggling of cultural property in the event of armed conflicts (...) and the attempt to deny historical roots and cultural diversity in this context can fuel and exacerbate conflict and hamper post-conflict national reconciliation' and that `attacks against sites and buildings dedicated to religion, education, art, science or charitable purposes, or historic monuments may constitute, under certain circumstances and pursuant to international law a war crime and that the perpetrators of such attacks must be brought to justice', and recalling their decision to refer the situation in Ukraine to the International Criminal Court under Article 14(1) of the Rome Statute with a view to expediting an investigation by the ICC Prosecutor;

Recalling the importance of art, culture and cultural cooperation in the promotion of peace, dialogue, respect, tolerance and mutual understanding among peoples, and the importance of fostering cultural diversity, upholding human rights and respecting fundamental freedoms;

# The European Ministers responsible of Culture, Audiovisual and Media, in the presence of the European Commission meeting in Angers on 7 and 8 March:

Expressed their solidarity with Ukraine and its people, and their fight for freedom, sovereignty and independence;

Highlighted their support for Ukrainian artists, journalists, and cultural and media professionals, and expressed their readiness to assist them together with their international partners;

Committed themselves in particular to exchanging, combining their efforts and sharing best practices in order to stand in solidarity with and welcome Ukrainian artists, journalists and cultural and media professionals, and assess ways forward regarding cultural cooperation;

Expressed their commitment to supporting institutions willing to host Ukrainian artists, journalists and cultural and media professionals, in order to allow them to continue their activity and thus preserve their freedom of creation and expression;

Expressed their support for all media and journalists who are striving to cover the ongoing military aggression against Ukraine in an independent and impartial manner, and stressed the need for guaranteeing their physical protection;

Reaffirmed their commitment to freedom of expression and information, media freedom and pluralism and denounced the ongoing information manipulation and disinformation campaigns that citizens affected by this military aggression should be protected from;

Expressed their strong concerns regarding Ukraine's cultural heritage, the dangers and damages it faces and affirmed their willingness to support its preservation, in collaboration with the relevant international organisations and partners;

Reaffirmed their support for the use of any available European programme and framework relevant in the fields of culture, audiovisual and media, and in particular Creative Europe, for artists, journalists, and cultural and media professionals that are affected by the military aggression against Ukraine and its consequences.

### Roselyne BACHELOT-NARQUIN

Minister of Culture of the French Republic

#### Jeanette GUSTAFSDOTTER

Minister for Culture of the Swedish Kingdom

#### Isabelle WEYKMANS

Minister for Culture and Sport, Employment and Media of the German-speaking Community of the Kingdom of Belgium This signature commits the French-speaking Community, the Flemish Community and the German-speaking Community of the Kingdom of Belgium.

#### Wanda ZWINOGRODZKA

Deputy Minister of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland

#### Petra SMOLIKOVA

Deputy Minister of Culture of the Czech Republic

## Miquel ICETA

Minister of Culture and Sport of the Kingdom of Spain

#### Zoltán LORINCZI

Secretary of State for International Affairs of Hungary

#### Ane HALSBOE-JØRGENSEN

Minister for Culture and Ecclesiastical Affairs of the Kingdom of Denmark

**Prodromos PRODROMOU** Minister of Education, Culture, Sport and Youth of the Republic of Cyprus

Simonas KAIRYS Minister of Culture of the Lithuanian Republic

**Dario FRANCESCHINI** Minister of Culture of the Italian Republic

Sam TANSON Minister for Culture of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

Natália MILANOVÁ Minister of Culture of the Slovak Republic

**Tiit TERIK** Minister of Culture of the Republic of Estonia

Andrea MAYER Secretary of State for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport of the Republic of Austria

Antti KURVINEN Minister of Science and Culture of the Republic of Finland

**Claudia ROTH** Minister of State for Culture and the Media of the Federal Republic of Germany

**Ignacija FRIDL JARC** Secretary of State for Culture of the Republic of Slovenia **Catherine MARTIN** Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media of Ireland

**Dr. Lina MENDONI** Minister of Culture and Sports of the Hellenic Republic

**Dace VILSONE** State Secretary of the Ministry for Culture of the Republic of Latvia

**Gunay USLU** State Secretary for Education, Culture and Science of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

José HERRERA Minister for the National Heritage, the Arts and Local Government of the Republic of Malta

Atanas ATANASOV Minister of Culture of the Republic of Bulgaria

Lucian ROMAȘCANU Minister of Culture of Romania

**Nina OBULJEN KORZINEK** Minister of Culture and Media of the Republic of Croatia

**Graça FONSECA** Minister of Culture of the Portuguese Republic

Anette TRETTEBERGSTUEN Minister of Culture and Equality the Kingdom of Norway